4 Levels of Care

Routine Hospice Care

Is the most common level of hospice care. With this type of care, an individual has elected to receive hospice care at their residence, which can include a private residence, assisted living facility or nursing facility.

General Inpatient Care

Is provided for pain control or other acute symptom management that cannot feasibly be provided in any other setting. General Inpatient Care begins when other efforts to manage symptoms have been ineffective. General Inpatient Care can be provided in a Medicare certified hospital, hospice inpatient facility, or nursing facility that has a registered nursing available 24 hours a day to provide direct patient care.

Continuous Home Care

Is care provided for between 8 and 24 hours a day to manage pain and other acute medical symptoms. Continuous home care services must be predominately nursing care, supplemented with -caregiver and hospice aide services and are intended to maintain the terminally ill patient at home during a pain or symptom crisis.

Inpatient Respite Care

Is available to provide temporary relief to the patient's primary caregiver. Respite care can be provided in a hospital, hospice facility, or a long term care facility that has sufficient 24 hour nursing personnel present on all shifts to guarantee that patient's needs are met. Respite care is provided for a maximum of 5 consecutive days.

Common Diagnosis

End Stage Alzheimer's / Dementia
End Stage Congestive Heart Failure (CHF)
End Stage Kidney Disease
End Stage Liver Disease
End Stage Constructive Pulmonary Disorder (COPD)
Stroke / CVA
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Lou Gehrig's Disease
Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV / AIDS)
End Stage Parkinsons

Where are hospice services done?

Hospice services can be provided in various locations. The most common are:

Home: This can be personal, a family member or a friends home
Nursing Home
Assisted Living
Hospital (General Inpatient Care or GIP)
Personal Care Home